Jowar dumplings( jonna kudumulu)

IMG_1255Today I am going to post Jowar (jonna) dumplings(kudumulu).Normally these dumplings made with rice flour.I substitute rice flour with jowar flour.
My mom use to make Jowar roti but for me that is tough so I am simply substituting jowar flour into easy recipes. Since Jowar is a gluten-free,high-protein,cholesterol-free and containing nutrients like fiber,iron,phosphorus and thiamine.Believe me this recipe is very easy and very tasty , kids also love to eat(my son just 20 months old liked it very much). This one is best food for diabetic patients also.

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

  • Jowar flour-1.5 cupIMG_1253
  • rice flour-1/2 cup
  • Lima beans – 1/2cup( I used frozen . You can use fresh lima beans or chikkiudu ginjalu (shelled indian flat beans) or  anuma ginjalu)
  • Chillies-2(depends on spicy level you eat)
  • Garlic cloves-2
  • Cumin seeds-1tsp
  • Carrot-1
  • Salt-1 tsp
  • Oil-1/2 tsp
  • Coriander leaves
  • Idly cooker

You can add spring onion also.

Procedure:

 

  • steam lima beans in a bowl adding 1/2 cup water and salt.IMG_1255
  • In another bowl add Jowar flour,rice flour.
  • Grate the carrot and chop the coriander leaves
  • Make paste with chillies ,cumin seeds,garlic cloves.
  • Mix the paste and grated carrot,chopped coriander in flour bowl.
  • Add lima beans with hot water in these mixture.( I added same water which I used to steam beans since it act as veggie broth).
  • Mix it well until the batter is smooth texture.
  • note:water should be hot. Mix it with spatula.
  • Take some oil to your hands do small dumplings.
  • Add some oil to idly plates keep these dumplings in it.
  • Add some water in the base of idly cooker,keep these plates in it.
  • Keep it medium flame,switch off the flame after one whistle.
  • Dumplings are ready you can serve them with onion garlic chili paste or just with oil.My son ate with oil,we ate with onion garlic chili paste.

2 thoughts on “Jowar dumplings( jonna kudumulu)

Leave a comment